A dust mop is the equivalent of small talk

Standard

A few days ago, I was in the men’s locker room, using an angled broom. (The building was empty, except for co-workers.)

I had used a dust mop to clean the locker room, the day before – but when I mopped, I noticed that the dust mop had done a “piss-poor” job of picking anything up.

So, I happily used the angled broom to sweep the large locker room – just because I like to do a really good job.

I began thinking… “A dust mop is the equivalent of a small talk. It gets absolutely nothing done. It’s a complete waste of time.”

“How are you?” “How about the weather, today?” …blah blah blah blah.

Then, I thought about the fact that I really love to try to be everyone’s friend. I try. But I often fail. I’m socially kind of awkward. I talk too much, reveal too much about myself, and people get bored of me talking. I don’t like small talk, so I avoid it. But people tend to be turned off, if I come at them with heavier topics (that I enjoy more).

Then, I thought about the fact that Chloe’s adoptive dad said (a couple of years ago), “Chloe makes friends with anyone who’s not quick enough to get away.”

That sounds like me… except that I’m grown. I’m not a really, awesomely cute 5 year old girl.

I’m an adult who tries to be everyone’s friend and that’s creepy… apparently. Ugh.

I’m an adult who is bitter. I try to be nice to everyone and be everyone’s friend. But people’s asshole ways have ruined that for me. Especially females. But even some men are difficult to be friends with. Men seem to think I must be hitting on them. The women scoff at me.

Unlike Chloe (so far), I have a lot of bitterness built up against people and their inability to just-be-nice.

Damn dust mops!

